Sales Tax Collection

Sales Tax Collection

Effective November 8th 2019

Last year the Supreme Court ruled on a case, South Dakota v. Wayfair regarding the collection of sales tax by individual states. Previously, sales tax was only determined to be collected by a business, if it had a physical presence in that specific state. This rule was changed by the South Dakota v. Wayfair ruling.

This means that depending on the state we will need to start collecting individual state sales tax on certain products. In the following states we will need to start collecting individual state sales tax on all coffee sales as well as non coffee sales such as mugs and gift boxes.

  • Alabama
  • Kansas
  • Illinois
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Utah
  • Virginia

In the following states we will need to collect individual state sales tax on only non-coffee products such as merchandise and gift boxes. The list below will not include sales tax on coffee sales. Coffee sales to these states will not include a sales tax on coffee at this time.

  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

Sales tax collection for these designated states is subject to change at any time. For more information on each state please scroll further down this page to see each state’s tax collection statement.

If your state is listed above, you will begin to see sales tax collected starting Friday, November 8th, 2019. If you have any questions, please feel free to give us a call at (866) 387-5282 or send us an email at [email protected]

Sales Tax Collection Statements


Seller has collected the simplified sellers use tax on taxable transactions delivered into Alabama and the tax will be remitted on the customer’s behalf to the Alabama Department of Revenue.

Seller’s program account number is SSU-R010499934.